Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Edirol R-09
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:26 pm
Posts: 829
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Hi strangers, :wink:

We have been having a little wind and lots of lightning and rain the past few days---normal rainy season. I don't know if that has anything to do with my problem. I think not.

My Edirol is playing games with me. It will record about 2 minutes and then it stops recording. I can't figure out why. Also, when I load it in the computer, I can't play the recording the way I usually do at first. (w/Windows Media Player). When I try to play it, it says I have to download a Codex. I tried to download, but the address they provided wouldn't open. However, I can play and edit in the Audacity program. Then I can export it to my computer and play it in Windows Media Player. Any ideas? However, the pieces stop after about 2 minutes. I should have a lot more space than that to record.

I've double checked the Recording Configuration: WAV16bit, Frequency: 46 kHz. I don't know what else to do.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks,
John

_________________
After playing Chopin, I feel as if I had been weeping over sins that I had never committed, and mourning over tragedies that were not my own.
-- Oscar Wilde, 1891


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:14 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Canada
Could your Edirol batteries maybe be running low or malfunctioning?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Edirol R-09
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9638
Location: Netherlands
John Robson wrote:
My Edirol is playing games with me. It will record about 2 minutes and then it stops recording.

It may be stating the obvious, but could it not simply be your flash card is full ? I had the same behaviour when I did not realized I had filled it up. Or maybe it's too fragmented. Do you ever clean it up ? I start each recording session with a 'Format card' command so as to have the maximum space available. I believe that just as with a much-used hard disk, regular defragmentation or formatting is necessary.

Not sure about these other problems but these are maybe caused by your files not being properly terminated.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8545
John, Are you still using the original card that came with the Edirol? Chris advised me to get a new and larger memory card, so I did and everything is good. I can record for a long time, now.

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thank you, thank you, thank you
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:26 pm
Posts: 829
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Thanks for the advice. I still don't understand what the problem was, but it's working now. I went to Best Buy and talked to one of the "Geek Patrol" guys. I took the Edirol with me to show him. He was familiar with Edirol even though they don't sell the product. He looked at my sound/memory card and said I need a much larger one. So I bought a two gigabyte card which was on sale for $17. Now the Edirol records just fine. I don't understand why it started acting up all of a sudden, but at least it's working now. Thanks for the suggestion of getting a bigger sound card.

By the way another thing is that today it is much slower downloading music from the Edirol to the computer, and I have to put it through the Audacity program in order to play it. That never happened before. When I try to listen the way I always did, it says I have to download a Codex. What the hell is a Codex on a computer? I think there might be a ghost in my computer fooling around with me. I've had several strange things occur the last week or so.

Anyway, muchas gracias por su ayuda.

_________________
After playing Chopin, I feel as if I had been weeping over sins that I had never committed, and mourning over tragedies that were not my own.
-- Oscar Wilde, 1891


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9638
Location: Netherlands
The problem was, that you were using the default 64Mb memory card the comes with the Edirol. That is totaly utterly peanuts. Maybe you had (accidentally) changed your settings to the highest quality, in which case the card can hold only a couple of minutes of music. Two giga is adequate and at least lests you record 2 hours of 24-bit WAV music. You should have bought the biggest one available though... I wish I had a 4GB but back when I ordered my Edirol this was not guaranteed to work.

The fact that you suddenly get asked for a codex (which is a conversion program for a very specific sound format) also suggests that maybe you have changed something on the Edirol. I recommend that you take the manual and go thru all your settings.

Or maybe something changed on your PC like a new version of your music player which does not yet have the required codexes installed. If it says it wants to download one, just let it have its way.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:53 pm
Posts: 471
Location: France
Quote:
I've double checked the Recording Configuration: WAV16bit, Frequency: 46 kHz. I don't know what else to do.


Should be 44 kHz, is'nt it ?

I encounter the same behaviour of WMP like you, when I try to make it reading a 24 bit recording. Then it looks on internet for a codec, which is the file needed for reading the audio files having a given format. But it seems that the 24 bit wav codec does not exist for WMP. To check what is the format of an audio file, I make a right clic on it, left clic on Properties (I'm not sure about the English translation), then on ID Tag.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group