Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:02 pm

All times are UTC - 1 hour

Post subject: Bach - WTC E minor
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:52 pm 
Site Admin

Well it seems to be Bach time again, as here are my re-recordings of the E minor pairs from both books. I've been polishing these for several months (not slapping them on like I did in the past). These are very different from Andreas' versions, maybe not as perfect but I hope they can hold their own in a crowded field.

Bach - BWV 855 - Das Wolhtemperierte Clavier I - Prelude and Fugue No.10 in E minor (3:21)
Bach - BWV 879 - Das Wolhtemperierte Clavier II - Prelude and Fugue No.10 in E minor (6:53)

Post subject: Re: Bach - WTC E minor
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:55 pm 

Hi Chris,
so, seems we have an "e-minor-weekend"! :lol:

To BWV 855:
prelude: it´s accurately played, no doubt, with some very few hesitations in the sense of agogic in the first part. My suggestion of improvement is to make more contrast between the "aria-like" part and the presto, there hardly is a tempo-difference!
The Presto-part here in this prelude is one of the places in the WTC, where I prefer an absolute extreme celerity. (If you listen to my version you will discover, that I´m able to play in a very high tempo, if I want that. :P ) The aria-part offers so much possibilities of motivic and melodic phrasing and interpretation, so that a slower tempo than yours from my view is very adequate to bring out these structures or individual ideas. I don´t find to much of that in your version.
fugue: here we have nearly the same tempo, if I compare our versions (my one by memory). Apart from the usual lack of voicing it´s a properly played version. There are some nice staccati in it.

To BWV 879: