Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:03 pm

All times are UTC - 1 hour

Post subject: Robert Schumann Fantasiestücke op.73 for clarinet and piano
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:51 pm 

It´s a great luck, that we a have a very talented young clarinetist at the Secondary School, where I work as a teacher. Her name is Cordula Herlt and she is fourteen. She actually has won the "Provincial prize" (that means the first prize of federal state "Hessen" in Germany) in her group of age and she made 19 points on the federal area in her group of age during the competition "Jugend musiziert" (="youth makes music", tranlated in English). It´s the most famous and well-known german music competition for the youth (up to age of 21).

For me it´s a gift to work with Cordula Herlt on chamber music. We decided to perform Robert Schumanns "Fantasiestücke" for clarinet and piano, op. 73 during the Academic Farewell Party for our high-school graduates this year. We think, we only will perform the first and the second movement, for the third we didn´t have enough time to practise and there should be performed also some other pieces during this event.

Cordulas multitudinous duties concerning music didn´t allow her to practise too much on these pieces, and I have to say, she manages it excellently. So, we kindly ask to be indulgent for some very few little imperfections in the last movement, but we thought, it´s better to publish a complete recording of all three movements than only of the first and second.

I personally have played the "Fantasiestücke" op. 73 in 1987, when I took part at the master class of Andras Schiff during "International Musicians Seminar" at Prussia Cove in Cornwall/England, but it´s a quite long time ago now and if you listen at the little slips of the pianist in the third movement you know, what I mean. :wink: