Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:20 am

All times are UTC - 1 hour

Post subject: The worst sight reader ever
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:19 pm 

I’ve recently been told that I must be the worst sight reader ever. I’m not sure how the person meant it, but it has certainly made me think.

I’ve been playing for over six years now and my sight reading ability has always been much worse than my playing, but this gap becomes even more noticeable as time goes on. To be able to perform a piece, I need to practise it over a long period of time until I learn it almost from memory, but sight reading doesn’t get any easier no matter how much I try.

I’ve tried to start again from basics but this has not helped – I can just about manage grade one or two, but as the music gets more difficult I just play either more slowly or more wrong notes (and wrong rhythms, dynamics and the rest!). I’ve read various articles on sight reading and have followed some good advice systematically, but there are no small audible rewards for my efforts, let alone a miracle cure.

It would be interesting to hear from any of you who are also bad at sight reading, or if you've managed to overcome it. If my condition is permanent, I might as well stop wasting so much time trying to acquire this elusive skill and concentrate on other aspects of playing, such as getting a small number of pieces to a high standard.

Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 1:49 pm 
Site Admin

We need to clarify something first: The term 'sight read' means when you put a piece of music you've never seen before up on your piano and play it. At least that is what I think it means. Perhaps you mean that you have trouble playing piano when you are reading the music?